Sweltering Foretaste, aka Kindling My Sol.

I took an early walk this morning to catch the sun in its advance. In the desert we can move beneath it only with respect, the power of it looms harder as the day goes on, until finally showing mercy as the earth turns a shy shoulder from its gaze. Today, however, the crafty moon will step in, blocking its rays from the surface of the earth.

Red Springs – Calico Basin, NV. Sunrise 5:43am.

 

8 comments on “Sweltering Foretaste, aka Kindling My Sol.

  1. Violet says:

    Very nice views!

  2. char says:

    Perfect time to be out–the light is great in all your pictures! I love Calico Basin. So did you go out later this evening and try to capture the solar eclipse as well in the desert? I caught a glimpse of it with my naked eyes for a second because a cloud cut out some of the brightness, and that was cool. But the clouds didn’t cooperate after that and I didn’t want to go blind.

    • Matt says:

      Thanks! I wanted to but it was my sons birthday party day. It was a cool day to have a birthday on though and I took advantage of the unique light to get some portraits of the family.

Leave a Reply

